Republican Primary Election Results


DeKalb County Sheriff

On Tuesday, June 5th, Alabama citizens went to their polling precincts to exercise their right to vote in the primary elections. Several local races have captured the attention of DeKalb and Jackson County residents for the past few months. The election results are finally here.
The results for the special election for renewal and continuation of the school tax are as follows:
In the DeKalb County Sheriff’s race two Republican candidates, Michael Edmondson and Nick Weldon, competed for the position. The winner of this contest was Nick Welden with 6,386 votes to Edmondson‘s 6,045 votes. Welden will run against Democrat candidate, John Baker in November.


Circuit Judge

Three Republican candidates competed for the position of Circuit Court, Judge, 9th Judicial Circuit, Place No.2. Andrew Harriston, Scott Lloyd, and Jeff McCurdy ran on the Republican ticket. The winner of that race was Harriston with 7,219 votes. Lloyd came in second with 2,653 votes, and in third place was McCurdy with 1,847 votes. There is no Democratic candidate in this race.


Circuit Clerk

Todd Greeson and Melissa Ledbetter ran on the Republican ticket for the office of Circuit Clerk, DeKalb County. Greeson won with 6,134 votes to Ledbetter’s 5,734 votes. Greeson will run against the Democratic incumbent, Pam Bailey Simpson in the general election.


DeKalb County Commission District 3

In the DeKalb County Commissioner District 3 race, Tony “Buck” Keef competed against Chris Kuykendall. Kuykendall was the winner of that race with 1,521 votes to Keef’s 1,025 votes. There is no one on the Democratic side of this race.


DeKalb County Board Of Education District 3

Three Republican candidates fought for the office of DeKalb County Board of Education District 3, Arlan “Monk” Blevins, Carol Hiett, and incumbent Jeff Williams. Hiett leads this race with 846 votes over Blevins with 748 votes and Williams with 747. Runoff candidates are highly likely to be determined by provisional votes.


DeKalb County Board Of Education District 4

For the District 4 Board of Education spot, Monty Darwin, Hazel Haynes, and Matt G. Sharp competed on the Republican ticket. Darwin leads with 888 votes over Sharp with 617 votes and Haynes with 561 votes. There will be a runoff between Darwin and Sharp.


In other Republican primary races, the DeKalb County results are as follows:Governor – Tommy Battle 4,238, Scott Dawson 1,534, Bill Hightower 98, Kay Ivey 5,772, Michael McAllister 75; Lieutenant Governor- Will Ainsworth 5,433, Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh 3,722, Rusty Glover 1,496; Attorney General- Chess Bedsole 1,552, Troy King 2,244, Steve Marshall 4,618, Alice Martin 1,788; United States Representative 4th Congressional District- Robert Aderholt 8,205, Anthony Blackmon 2,667; State Senator, District 8 – Max D. Fuller 1,379, Steve Livingston 6,450; State Representative District 23 – Parker Edmiston 75, Tommy Haynes 153; State Representative District 39- T.J. Maloney 269, Ginny Shaver 377.
In major Democratic primary elections the results are as follows: Governor- Sue Bell Cobb 248
Christopher A. Countryman 32, James C. Fields,Jr. 68, Walt Maddox 381, Doug “New Blue” Smith 42, Anthony White 27; United States Representative, 4th Congressional District- Lee Auman 328, Rick Neighbors 379; Attorney General – Chris Christie 246, Joseph Siegelman 514; Secretary of State – Lula Albert “SGM Ret” 247, Heather Milam 480.